Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: shockwave
Malwarebytes Forum > Updates and Alerts > Security Software Updates
mbyuser
in case you havent updated shockwave,do so now.

newest version;11.5.0.600

unistall your old version,reboot and install the new version.
make sure you deselect the symantec pre checked box.

hxxp://get.adobe.com/shockwave/
yardbird
One of the Mods may want to contact adobe about this. just was browsing the site. could be an F/P ??
see the address bar--stay away from that site in adobe.
mbyuser
hxxp://forums.spybot.info/index.php
(form General Security Alerts,thread;Alerts)

was the reason behind the suggested update.

i was at adobe last night,scanned my comp with various,nothing has come up.
mind i might have differnt settings with some of my add ons.
i deff never sent anyone to a know bad site.

what i am trying to say is adobe may have been infected,however its not a rouge site.
i never put up that post for bad reasons and i dont feel to good about your trojan attack.

could you let me know if its a fp or not.
yardbird
@ mbyuser

This is a site that lots of users here go to for updates, I was just browsing inside the Adobe site. your not to blame!
One of the Trusted Advisor's said to post the pic here. so mbam can research the prob.
mbam can contact Adobe and let them know whats up.... I got hit with 3 trojans. all are removed
don't worry about it. I tested the download & that was clean! regards....
mountaintree16
@ yardbird and mbyuser

whats going on here?

ohmy.gif
yardbird
QUOTE (mountaintree16 @ Jul 5 2009, 12:22 PM) *
@ yardbird and mbyuser

whats going on here?

ohmy.gif

just an internal link that pop up my AV, MBAM will contact Adobe.
mountaintree16
Oh, okay. Keep us posted.

Is there actually a virus?

I updated my shockwave a couple weeks ago, is there a new update?

This thread is a little scary :/ eak.

QUOTE (yardbird @ Jul 5 2009, 03:24 PM) *
just an internal link that pop up my AV, MBAM will contact Adobe.
yardbird
The download scans ok. its another internal link in adobe. just get the download/update & leave. mbam is dealing with it.
mountaintree16
k. I did all my updates 2-4 weeks ago (shockwave about 2 weeks ago) were there updates since then do you know?

I don't wanna do an update if it gives a virus... :/

QUOTE (yardbird @ Jul 5 2009, 03:33 PM) *
The download scans ok. its another internal link in adobe. just get the download/update & leave. mbam is dealing with it.
yardbird
@ mountaintree16

Its a safe download here: http://get.adobe.com/shockwave/thankyou/ just say yes to the install, uncheck the Google Toolbar box if you don't want it?
I just put it on three pc's version 11.5+ all scan's came up clean
catscomputer
Yikes!!

I read this post yesterday (or maybe the day before, I forget) before you replied about the warning you got. Afterwards I visted adobe (adobe.com/products) and clicked on three links on that page - the icons for get adobe reader, the get flash player, and get shockwave player (the little icons to the right of the screen). I wanted to check if I had the latest versions. My resident shield was not triggered (AVG 8.5 free) on any of those pages, and I did a routine MBAM quick scan a few hours later and it was clear (though I realise that might not mean anything if AVG & MBAM were not aware of the threat at that time). I did not actually download any updates as my versions are all good.

My question is, do you know if the adobe web pages I have listed above were infected? If they are/were - will a new MBAM scan find any trojans or other nasties now that MBAM are on to it?

Scary that a *trusted* website has gotten compromised somehow. sad.gif

(Hopefully this post makes sense! Oh, and if it makes a difference - I had adblock+ & NoScript enabled in my FF browser)
mbyuser
was over tired yardbird,didnt have my thinking cap on. (not going to post when i am overtired again)


@catscomputer
dont painc about visting adobe.
yardbird
@ mbyuser its ok. I guess no one looked just above the pic! The address was several clicks away from the download. And my AV dosen't pick up anything on it anymore. It was most likely fixed.
mountaintree16
@ yardbird

do you know if anyone was able to contact Adobe?
yardbird
@ mountaintree16

you mean besides me? wink.gif

no I don't know,
mountaintree16
@ yardbird

I think that's what I mean! Did you contact them?
yardbird
@ mountaintree16

no, I'm sure someone did, this is what? the 3rd time. The download link is ok. Or you would have read about it on several websites. thousands of people+ hit that download. I did on 3 pc's -- alls well.

now you may want to contact user Maniac unsure.gif

and ask him if his post is related to the site just above the pic?
see his post: http://www.malwarebytes.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=18764
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.